<u>Coventry City Council</u> <u>Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Council (Part 2) held at 2.00 pm on Tuesday, 25</u> <u>June 2024</u>

Present:

Members:

Councillor M Mutton (Chair)

Councillor F Abbott Councillor S Agboola Councillor N Akhtar Councillor P Akhtar Councillor M Ali Councillor L Bigham Councillor J Birdi Councillor J Blundell Councillor K Caan Councillor B Christopher Councillor G Duggins Councillor J Gardiner Councillor S Gray Councillor L Harvard Councillor G Havre Councillor M Heaven Councillor P Hetherton Councillor A Hopkins Councillor J Innes Councillor T Jandu Councillor A Jobbar Councillor A Kaur Councillor L Kelly Councillor AS Khan

Councillor R Lakha Councillor R Lancaster Councillor J Lepoidevin Councillor G Lewis Councillor G Llovd Councillor P Male Councillor K Maton Councillor J McNicholas Councillor C Miks Councillor S Nazir Councillor J O'Boyle Councillor E M Reeves Councillor G Ridley Councillor K Sandhu Councillor P Seaman Councillor B Singh Councillor R Singh **Councillor CE Thomas** Councillor D Toulson Councillor A Tucker Councillor D Welsh

Honorary Alderman:	J Clifford, D Skinner, T Skipper
Apologies:	Councillors R Bailey, R Brown, T Khan, B Mosterman, E Ruane and T Sawdon Honorary Alderman D Batten, H Fitzpatrick

Public Business

10. Return of person elected as Councillor for Radford Ward on 20 June 2024

The City Council noted the return of Councillor Mal Mutton as a Labour Councillor elected for Radford Ward in the City, on 20 June 2024.

11. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

12. Election of the Chair of the Council (being the Lord Mayor of the City)

It was moved by Councillor P Hetherton, seconded by Councillor M Ali and supported by Councillors G Ridley and S Gray, that Councillor Mal Mutton be elected as Chair of the Council (being the Lord Mayor of the City) for the ensuing year.

RESOLVED that Councillor Mal Mutton be elected as Chair of the Council for the 2024/25 Municipal Year, having made the declaration of office prescribed by the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) and having been invested with the Lord Mayor's Chain of Office.

13. Vote of thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor

A vote of thanks for the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Jaswant Singh Birdi, was moved by Councillor G Ridley, seconded by Councillor T Jandu and supported by Councillors G Duggins and S Gray.

Councillor Birdi responded to the vote of thanks.

RESOLVED:

- (1) That the warmest thanks of the Council are due and are thereby given to Councillor Jaswant Singh Birdi for the zeal and impartiality with which he has discharged the arduous duties of the office of Lord Mayor during the year 2023/24; and
- (2) That a copy of this resolution, under the Common Seal, be presented to Councillor Jaswant Singh Birdi and Mrs Birdi.

14. Election of the Vice-Chair of the Council (being the Deputy Lord Mayor of the City)

It was moved by Councillor L Kelly, seconded by Councillor J McNicholas and supported by Councillors G Ridley and S Gray that Councillor Rachel Lancaster be elected as Vice Chair of the Council (being the Deputy Lord Mayor of the City) for the ensuing year.

RESOLVED that Councillor Rachel Lancaster be elected as Vice Chair of the Council for the 2024/25 Municipal Year, having made the declaration of office prescribed by the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) and having been invested with the Deputy Lord Mayor's Badge.

15. **Correspondence and Announcements of the Lord Mayor**

(a) Recent Tragic Events

The Lord Mayor referred to the recent tragic deaths of two children in the City.

Thoughts were with both families at this sad time and Members noted that letters of sincere condolences on behalf of the City Council had been sent on behalf of the City Council.

(b) Death of Arther 'Gaps' Hendrickson

The Lord Mayor referred to the recent sad death of Arthur 'Gaps' Hendrickson, frontman of the Coventry 2-Tone band The Selector, which was formed in 1979 and had released a number of top 40 singles in the UK.

On behalf of the City Council, the Lord Mayor conveyed sincerest condolences to his family and friends at this sad time.

(c) King's Birthday Honours

The Lord Mayor referred to awards made to Coventry citizens in the recent New Year's Honours List:

- Colleen Fletcher, former MP for Coventry North East OBE for parliamentary and political service.
- Tina Costello, Chief Executive Officer of the Heart of England Community Foundation - OBE for services to charity and voluntary organisations across the West Midlands and Warwickshire.
- Andrew Wright, formerly the head teacher at Harborne Hill School in Birmingham – OBE for his services to children in care, care-experiences young people and the education community.
- Brian Beever who served as the group treasurer for the 36th/51st Scout Group, county training adviser and district treasurer for the Bablake Scout District – MBE for his services to young people in Coventry.
- Reverend Father Mykola Matwijiwskyj, the Vicar General of the Ukranian Catholic Eparchy of the Holy Family of London – MBE for his extensive community service.

On behalf of the City Council, the Lord Mayor extended congratulations to all recipients.

(d) Kirston Nelson, Director Partnerships and Performance

Members noted that Kirston Nelson, Director of Partnerships and Performance would be leaving the City Council in July 2024 to become Corporate Director for Stronger and Safer Communities at Swindon Council in Wiltshire.

The Lord Mayor and Members thanked Kirston for her service over the past 9 years and wished her every success in her new role.

(e) Civic Visits to Dresden and Kiel

Members noted the Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress' recent visits to the City of Dresden between 7th and 9th June to celebrate the 65th Anniversary of our twinning link and a visit to Coventry's twin City of Kiel, attending the International Cities Forum.

(Meeting closed at 2.45 pm)