# Coventry City Council Minutes of the Meeting of Council held at 12.45 pm on Thursday, 19 May 2022

Present:

Members: Councillor K Maton (Chair)

Councillor F Abbott Councillor AS Khan Councillor N Akhtar Councillor R Lakha Councillor P Akhtar Councillor R Lancaster Councillor M Ali Councillor M Lapsa Councillor G Lloyd Councillor R Bailey Councillor L Bigham Councillor P Male Councillor J Birdi Councillor A Masih Councillor J Blundell Councillor J McNicholas

Councillor R Brown Councillor C Miks

Councillor K Caan Councillor B Mosterman Councillor J Clifford Councillor S Nazir Councillor G Duggins Councillor J O'Boyle Councillor B Gittins Councillor G Ridley Councillor K Sandhu Councillor S Gray Councillor L Harvard Councillor T Sawdon Councillor G Hayre Councillor P Seaman Councillor M Heaven Councillor R Simpson Councillor P Hetherton Councillor R Singh Councillor R Thay Councillor A Hopkins

Councillor J Innes
Councillor T Jandu
Councillor A Jobbar
Councillor S Keough
Councillor D Welsh
Councillor D Welsh

Councillor T Khan

Honorary Alderman D Batten, H Fitzpatrick, K Mulhall, K Taylor and J Wright

Apologies: Councillor R Auluck, J Innes, J Lepoidevin, M Mutton,

E Ruane and B Singh

## **Public Business**

### 1. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

## 2. Conferring the Title of Honorary Aldermen

The City Council considered a report of the Chief Executive which set out the details of nominations for Honorary Aldermen. The following nominations had been received and were presented for approval:

## **Ann Lucas OBE**

Ann Lucas was a Member of the City Council for 26 years representing Bablake Ward between 1995-99 and then Holbrook Ward between 2000 to 2022. During that time, Ann served on many Committees, holding a number of positions, including Chair of Scrutiny Co-ordination Committee and Chair of the Health and Care Policy Team and Ann was a Cabinet Member for a number of portfolios, including Health and Community Services, Social Services and Area Co-ordination and Leisure.

From 2013-2016, Ann was Leader of the Council, the first female Leader of the Council. Ann was Lord Mayor in 2020/21.

Ann has been an active campaigner against domestic violence for many years and was awarded an OBE in 2014 for her national and local work as a champion of domestic violence issues and her services to local government. She was also awarded the Coventry Award of Merit in 2014.

It was proposed by Councillor R Lancaster, seconded by Councillor J Clifford and RESOLVED unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Ann Lucas as a past member of the City Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 16 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the Common Seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Ann with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen'.

Honorary Alderman Lucas then gave an acceptance speech.

#### **David Skinner**

David Skinner was a Member of the City Council for 16 years representing Westwood Ward from 2006-2022. During that time, David served on Ward Forums, Licensing and Regulatory Committee, Planning Committee and Scrutiny Boards.

David was awarded an MBE in 2020 for services to Coventry communities.

It was proposed by Councillor M Lapsa, seconded by Councillor A Masih and RESOLVED unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on David Skinner as a past member of the City Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the Common Seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented David with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen'.

Honorary Alderman Skinner then gave an acceptance speech.

(Meeting closed at 1.05 pm)